Department of Physics


The Department of Physics at Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Sub-campus, Dharashiv was established in June-2019 with a commitment to providing quality education and fostering cutting-edge research in the field of Physics. The department is catering to students from rural areas, aiming to make quality education accessible to a diverse demographic. Presently under the able leadership of Dr. Prashant P. Dixit, who serves as the Head of the department, with a strong emphasis on academic excellence, research, and community engagement, the department strives to create an environment conducive to holistic learning and scientific exploration.

The Department of Physics at Dharashiv is committed to shaping the next generation of physicists and making meaningful contributions to the field through education and cutting-edge research.


To be a leading center for Physics education and research, fostering a culture of innovation, critical thinking, and scientific inquiry. The department aspires to contribute significantly to the advancement of knowledge in Physics and its applications.


  • To provide a dynamic learning environment and high-quality education in physics that encourages both theoretical understanding and hands-on experience in physics.
  • To cultivate a research-oriented environment that encourages faculty and students to engage in impactful research in diverse areas of Physics, with a focus on emerging areas.
  • To engage in extension activities to connect with the local community, promoting scientific awareness and education.
  • To establish collaborations with academic and industrial partners to enhance research opportunities and practical exposure for students.