Marathwada University, now since 14th January 1994. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University introduced the postgraduate Diploma in Library Science Course during June 1968, with the persistent efforts of the University Librarian Late Shri N. A. Gore. During the year 1969, in all Universities in India the nomenclature of the course was changed from Diploma in Library Science to Bachelor of Library Science, hence the examination of the course was conducted as Bachelor of Library Science in March/ April, 1969.

Even though the course was started during the year 1968, the statutory inception of the Department took place in the year 1979. The Master of Library & Information Science course was introduced during the year 1985-86 with the untiring efforts of the University librarian Shri R. G. Jogdeo.

Considering the importance of information in day to-day life, and it is primary function of the Librarians to disseminate the information to their users, the subjects Information Science & Information Service were introduced in the course, hence the nomenclature of the courses as well as Department was changed from “Library Science” to “ Library and Information Science.” Department started facilities leading to Ph. D. degree from the year 1996.

Originally the Department started functioning in one wing of the University Library, while from the year 1995, the Department has its own building. Prof. Yeshpal, the former Chairman of UGC, performed the stone laying ceremony of the Department’s building & it was completed during the year 1992-93. UGC was generous to give the grant of Rs.12.00 Lakhs for the extension of Library & Information Science building during 9th plan period.  The construction work of first floor of department is completed during 2006-2007.

following persons worked as Incharge/Head of the Department

Sr.No. Name Designation Tensure
1 Shri N.A.Gore Librarian &Incharge 1968-71
2 Shri R.G.Jogdeo Librarian &Incharge 1971-89
3 Miss T.P.Jagtap Librarian &Incharge 1989-93
4 Dr.(Mrs) A.A.Vaishnav Professor & Head 1993-2010
5 Dr. (Mrs) Vaishali Khaparde Professor & Head 2010 to till date